The Nobel Peace Prize 1999

The Nobel Peace Prize 1999 was awarded to Médecins Sans Frontières (Doctors Without Borders) "in recognition of the organisation's pioneering humanitarian work on several continents."

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Peace Prize 1999. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Wed. 24 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.