Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkol Karman, presented by Thorbjørn Jagland, Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, on 7 October 2011.

Interview with Thorbjørn Jagland,

Following the announcement, Thorbjørn Jagland, Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee was interviewed by freelance journalist Geir Helljesen regarding the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize. Jagland described what the Committee was hoping to achieve in awarding this year’s prize, describing how he would characterize the prize and what message it might send to the Arab world. He also summarized how this prize fit with the selection criteria outlined in the will of Alfred Nobel.

See a Video of the Interview
Interview with Geir Lundestad

After the announcement of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize, Geir Lundestad, Director of the Nobel Institute and Permanent Secretary of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, told freelance journalist Geir Helljesen why the selection of this year’s prize was an ‘important decision’. He also described how the prize relates to past prizes, how the popularity of the Nobel Peace Prize itself is increasing and what his personal top three favourite prizes selections are from the Committee’s 110 year history.

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Thu. 20 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.