Tawakkol Karman


Tawakkol Karman

Photo: K. Opprann

Tawakkol Karman
The Nobel Peace Prize 2011

Born: 7 February 1979, Ta'izz, Yemen

Residence at the time of the award: Yemen

Prize motivation: “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work”

Prize share: 1/3

Freedom of expression and democracy in Yemen

Tawakkol Karman, a Yemeni journalist, was the first woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize from the Arab world. She shared the award with two Liberian women, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee, for their non-violent efforts to promote peace and their struggle for women’s rights.

She led several protests against the dictatorial regime of President Saleh, calling for democracy and freedom of speech. She founded the organisation Women Journalists without Chains, and was imprisoned and persecuted on account of her active engagement.

Tawakkol Karman came forward as a courageous leadership figure during the Arab Spring in 2011 and was praised for her efforts to promote reconciliation between Sjia and Sunni Muslims and between Islam and other religions. Like Iranian Shirin Ebadi, Peace Prize laureate for 2003, she maintained that Islam is no obstacle to the full acceptance of women in every sphere of society.

To cite this section
MLA style: Tawakkol Karman – Facts. NobelPrize.org. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sat. 2 Mar 2024. <https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/peace/2011/karman/facts/>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.