Ellen Johnson Sirleaf


Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

Photo: K. Opprann

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
The Nobel Peace Prize 2011

Born: 29 October 1938, Monrovia, Liberia

Residence at the time of the award: Liberia

Role: President of Liberia

Prize motivation: “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work”

Prize share: 1/3

Africa’s first female democratically elected head of state

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for her non-violent efforts to promote peace and her struggle for women’s rights. She is the first female democratically elected head of state in Africa. Johnson Sirleaf came to power in 2005, creating peace and economic progress in the country. She strengthened women’s rights, expanded freedom of speech and became an example for other African leaders.

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf had studied in the US, where she took a Master’s degree in Public Administration. She returned to her home country and served as Minister of Finance, but the government was overthrown in a military coup in 1980. Forced into exile, she worked for the UN Development Program for Africa and the Development Fund for Women.

Johnson Sirleaf lost the presidential election in 1997 to the corrupt Charles Taylor, but after he was forced to flee the country, she won the presidential election in 2005.

To cite this section
MLA style: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf – Facts. NobelPrize.org. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Fri. 14 Jun 2024. <https://www.nobelprize.org/prizes/peace/2011/johnson_sirleaf/facts/>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.