The Nobel Prize in Physics 1924

Karl Manne Georg Siegbahn

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Prize share: 1/1

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1924 was awarded to Karl Manne Georg Siegbahn "for his discoveries and research in the field of X-ray spectroscopy"
Manne Siegbahn received his Nobel Prize one year later, in 1925. During the selection process in 1924, the Nobel Committee for Physics decided that none of the year's nominations met the criteria as outlined in the will of Alfred Nobel. According to the Nobel Foundation's statutes, the Nobel Prize can in such a case be reserved until the following year, and this statute was then applied. Manne Siegbahn therefore received his Nobel Prize for 1924 one year later, in 1925.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1924. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Sat. 9 Dec 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Streams during Nobel Week

Watch the 2023 Nobel Prize lectures, the Nobel Prize Concert, Nobel Week Dialogue, the prize award ceremonies in Oslo and Stockholm and Nobel Peace Prize Forum here at
Watch lectures and award ceremonies

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.