The Nobel Prize in Physics 1990

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics jointly to

Jerome I. Friedman and Henry W. Kendall
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA
Richard E. Taylor
Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC), CA, USA

for their pioneering investigations concerning deep inelastic scattering of electrons on protons and bound neutrons, which have been of essential importance for the development of the quark model
in particle physics


To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1990. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2022. Fri. 20 May 2022. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.