The Nobel Prize in Physics 1997

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the 1997 Nobel Prize in Physics jointly to

Steven Chu, Claude Cohen-Tannoudji andWilliam D. Phillips

for their developments of methods to cool and trap atoms with laser light.



This year’s Nobel laureates in physics have developed methods of cooling and trapping atoms by using laser light. Their research is helping us to study fundamental phenomena and measure important physical quantities with unprecedented precision.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1997. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Fri. 2 Jun 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.