The Nobel Prize in Physics 1997

Steven Chu

Prize share: 1/3

Claude Cohen-Tannoudji

Prize share: 1/3

William D. Phillips

Prize share: 1/3

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1997 was awarded jointly to Steven Chu, Claude Cohen-Tannoudji and William D. Phillips "for development of methods to cool and trap atoms with laser light."

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1997. Nobel Media AB 2018. Thu. 16 Aug 2018. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.