Gerardus 't Hooft


Gerardus 't Hooft

Photo from the Nobel Foundation archive.

Gerardus 't Hooft
The Nobel Prize in Physics 1999

Born: 5 July 1946, Den Helder, the Netherlands

Affiliation at the time of the award: Utrecht University, Utrecht, the Netherlands

Prize motivation: “for elucidating the quantum structure of electroweak interactions in physics”

Prize share: 1/2


According to modern physics, four fundamental forces exist in nature. Electromagnetic interaction is one of these. The weak interaction—responsible, for example, for the beta decay of nuclei—is another. In the 1960s, a unified theory was formulated for these two forces: the electroweak interaction. However, certain problems still remained to be solved. In the early 1970s, Gerardus t'Hooft and Martinus Veltman formulated and tested a mathematical theory that further explained the electroweak interaction.

To cite this section
MLA style: Gerardus 't Hooft – Facts. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Sat. 3 Jun 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.