The Nobel Prize in Physics 2001



 The Nobel Prize in Physics 2001

   The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2001 jointly to Eric A. Cornell, Wolfgang Ketterle and Carl E. Wieman “for the achievement of Bose-Einstein condensation in dilute gases of alkali atoms, and for early fundamental studies of the properties of the condensates”.  
Eric A. Cornell
JILA and National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Boulder, Colorado, USA.
Carl E. Wieman
JILA and University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado, USA.
Wolfgang Ketterle
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2001. Nobel Media AB 2021. Mon. 14 Jun 2021. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.