Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics to Roy J. Glauber, John L. Hall and Theodor W. Hänsch, presented by Professor Gunnar Öquist, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 4 October 2005.

A presentation of the prize-awarded work was held by Professor Sune Svanberg.


The announcement was followed by an interview with Professor Stig Stenholm about the 2005 Nobel Laureates in Physics. The interviewer is Marika Griehsel, freelance journalist.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Mon. 24 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.