The Nobel Prize in Physics 2005

Roy J. Glauber

Photo: J.Reed

Prize share: 1/2

John L. Hall

Photo: Sears.P.Studio

Prize share: 1/4

Theodor W. Hänsch

Photo: F.M. Schmidt

Prize share: 1/4

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2005 was divided, one half awarded to Roy J. Glauber "for his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence", the other half jointly to John L. Hall and Theodor W. Hänsch "for their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique"

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2005. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2022. Mon. 28 Nov 2022. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.