Isamu Akasaki




Mar. 52: B. Sc., Kyoto University.

Mar. 64: Dr. Eng. (Electronics), Nagoya University.

Employment, Academic Appointments

Apr. 52–Mar. 59: Research staff, Kobe Kogyo Corporation (now Fujitsu Ltd.).

Apr. 59–Mar. 64: Research Associate, Assistant Professor and Associate Professor, Department of Electronics, Nagoya University.

Apr. 64–Apr. 74: Head, Fundamental Research Laboratory-4, Matsushita Research Institute Tokyo, Inc.

May 74–Jul. 81: General Manager, Semiconductor Department at the same institute as above.

Aug. 81–Mar. 92: Professor, Department of Electronics, Nagoya University.

Mar. 87–Sep. 90: Project Leader, “JST’s1 Research and Development of GaN-Based Blue-Light-Emitting Diode.”

Apr. 92–present: Professor Emeritus, Nagoya University.
Professor, Graduate School of Science and Technology, Meijo University.

Mar. 93–Sep. 99: Project Leader, JST’s “Research and Development of Short-Wavelength GaN-Based Semiconductor Laser Diode.”

Apr. 95–Mar. 96: Visiting Professor, Research Center for Interface Quantum Electronics, Hokkaido University.

Jul. 96–Mar. 01: Project Leader, JSPS’s2 “Research for the Future Program.”

Jul. 96–Mar. 04: Project Leader, High-Tech Research Center of Meijo University sponsored by MEXT.3

Nov. 98–present: Member of the Finnish Institute in Japan.

Apr. 01–present: Research Fellow at Nagoya University Akasaki Research Center.

Apr. 02–Mar. 04: Councilor of JST.

Apr. 03–Mar. 06: Chairman of R&D Strategic Committee on the Wireless Devices based on Nitride Semiconductors at the METI.4

Dec. 04–present: University Professor, Nagoya University.

Apr. 10–present: University Professor, Meijo University.

Apr. 11–present: Director of Research Center for Nitride Semiconductor Core Technologies, Meijo University.

Honors and Prizes

May. 91: The Chu-nichi Culture Prize from the Chu-nichi Press.

Aug. 95: The Heinrich Welker Medal from the International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors.

Nov. 96: The IEEE/LEOS Engineering Achievement Award from the IEEE/LEOS.5

Nov. 97: The Medal with Purple Ribbon from the Japanese Government.

Jul. 98: The Inoue Harushige Award jointly with Toyoda Gosei Co.Ltd. from JST.

Jul. 98: The Laudise Prize from the International Organization for Crystal Growth.

Nov. 98: The C&C Prize from the Foundation for C&C Promotion.

Dec. 98: The Jack A. Morton Award from the IEEE.

Dec. 98: The Rank Prize from the Rank Prize Funds.

Jan. 99: IEEE Fellow.

May 99: The Solid State Science &Technology Award from the Electrochemical Society.

Jul. 99: Honorary Citizen of Montpellier, France.

Nov. 99: Honoris Causa Doctorate from the University of Montpellier II, France.

Mar. 00: The Toray Science & Technology Prize from the Toray Science Foundation.

Jan. 01: The Asahi Prize from the Asahi Press.

May 01: Honoris Causa Doctorate from Linköping University, Sweden.

Mar. 02: The Outstanding Achievement Award from the Japan Society of Applied Physics.

Jun. 02: The Fujihara Prize from the Fujihara Foundation of Science.

Nov. 02: The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon from the Japanese Government.

Nov. 02: The Takeda Award from the Takeda Foundation.

Sept. 03: The SSDM Award from the International Conference on Solid State Devices & Materials.

Nov. 04: Person of Cultural Merit from the Japanese Government.

Mar. 06: The John Bardeen Award from the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS).

Oct. 08: Foreign Associate of the United States National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

Nov. 09: The Kyoto Prize from the Inamori Foundation.

Aug. 11: The Edison Medal from the IEEE.

Sept. 11: The Special Award for Intellectual Property Activities from JST.

Nov. 11: The Order of Culture conferred by the Emperor of Japan in person.

Dec. 12: Honorary Citizen of Minami-Kyushu.

Jan. 13: Life Fellow of the IEEE.

May 13: The Karl Ferdinand Braun Prize from the Society for Information Display.

May 14: The Okawa Publications Prize from the Okawa Foundation.

Jul. 14: The Imperial Prize and the Japan Academy Prize from the Japan Academy.

Dec. 14: The Nobel Prize in Physics.

Dec. 14: Member, The Japan Academy.

Feb. 15: The Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering from the NAE.


1. JST: Japan Science and Technology Agency.

2. JSPS: Japan Society for the Promotion of Science.

3. MEXT: Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology of Japan.

4. METI: Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan.

5. IEEE/LEOS: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Lasers and Electro-Optics Society (now IEEE Photonics Society).

From The Nobel Prizes 2014. Published on behalf of The Nobel Foundation by Science History Publications/USA, division Watson Publishing International LLC, Sagamore Beach, 2015

This autobiography/biography was written at the time of the award and later published in the book series Les Prix Nobel/ Nobel Lectures/The Nobel Prizes. The information is sometimes updated with an addendum submitted by the Laureate.

Isamu Akasaki died on 1 April 2021.

Copyright © The Nobel Foundation 2014

To cite this section
MLA style: Isamu Akasaki – Biographical. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sat. 24 Feb 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.