Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics by Professor Göran K. Hansson, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 4 October 2016.

By tradition, the announcement started in Swedish and included some introductory remarks by Professor Nils Måretensson. Professor Thors Hans Hansson gave insights into the discoveries that led to the Nobel Prize. Nobel Laureate F. Duncan M. Haldane joined the press conference via phone and answered media questions.

Interview about the awarded work

“Exotic is not a precise scientific term. Exotic is something that expresses our wonder, our wonder in front something that is very unusual, very hard to understand”.

Immediately following the announcement, Professor Thors Hans Hansson, member of the Nobel Committee for Physics, was interviewed by freelance journalist Joanna Rose regarding the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics.

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Thu. 13 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.