Monthly Quiz

Monthly May 2019

Physics Laureate Peter Higgs turns 90 years old on 29 May. The Higgs particle, or Higgs boson, was named after him.

Morea about Peter Higgs

Monthly April 2019

The right answer is ca 9,540. The porcelain was created for the 90th anniversary of the Nobel Prize in 1991 and designed by Karin Björquist (Rörstrand/Gustavsberg). The glasses were designed by Gunnar Cyrén (Orrefors) and the linen cloth by Ingrid Dessau (Klässbols Linneväveri).

Read more about the Nobel Banquet

Monthly March 2019

The right answer is Marie Curie

Marie Curie was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 1903 and the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1911. Malala Yousafzai was awarded the Peace Prize in 2014 and Mother Teresa the 1979 Peace Prize.

See a list of all awarded women

Monthly February 2019

The right answer is 5 couples

Married couples have been awarded five times since 1901.
Read more about the awarded couples

Monthly January 2019

The right answer is 50 years

The names of the nominees and nominators cannot be revealed until 50 years later according to the secrecy rule.
Learn more about the nomination of Nobel Laureates

Monthly December 2018

The right answer is Arthur Ashkin

The oldest Nobel Laureate to date is Arthur Ashkin who was 96 years old when he was awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics. Denis Mukwege was 63 years and James P. Allison was 70  years.

Monthly November 2018

The right answer is 9.0 million Swedish kronor (SEK)

The Nobel Prize amount for 2018 was set at Swedish kronor (SEK) 9.0 million per full Nobel Prize.
Read more about the Nobel Prize amount

Monthly September 2018

The right answer is 2011

In 2011 three women were awarded the Nobel Peace Prize: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkol Karman “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work.” That also happened in 2009, when Elizabeth Blackburn and Carol Greider were awarded the Medicine Prize and Herta Müller received the Literature Prize. In 2016, no women were awarded.