Nobel Prize awarded organisations

planet earth

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 30 times to organisations between 1901 and 2022. 27 individual organisations have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, as UNHCR, the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, has received the Nobel Peace Prize twice, in 1954 and 1981, and the work of Comité international de la Croix Rouge (International Committee of the Red Cross) (ICRC) has been honoured three times, in 1917, 1944 and 1963.

The Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize 2022


Center for Civil Liberties

The Peace Prize laureates represent civil society in their home countries. They have for many years promoted the right to criticise power and protect the fundamental rights of citizens. They have made an outstanding effort to document war crimes, human right abuses and the abuse of power. Together they demonstrate the significance of civil society for peace and democracy.

The Nobel Peace Prize 2020

World Food Programme (WFP)
“for its efforts to combat hunger, for its contribution to bettering conditions for peace in conflict-affected areas and for acting as a driving force in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict”

The Nobel Peace Prize 2017

International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN)
“for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons”

The Nobel Peace Prize 2015

National Dialogue Quartet
“for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011”

The Nobel Peace Prize 2013

Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)
“for its extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons”

The Nobel Peace Prize 2012

European Union (EU)
“for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe”

The Nobel Peace Prize 2007

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
“for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change”

The Nobel Peace Prize 2006

Grameen Bank
“for their efforts to create economic and social development from below”

The Nobel Peace Prize 2005

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
“for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way”

The Nobel Peace Prize 2001

United Nations (UN)
“for their work for a better organized and more peaceful world”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1999

Médecins Sans Frontières
“in recognition of the organization’s pioneering humanitarian work on several continents”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1997

International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL)
“for their work for the banning and clearing of anti-personnel mines”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1995

Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs
“for their efforts to diminish the part played by nuclear arms in international politics and, in the longer run, to eliminate such arms”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1988

United Nations Peacekeeping Forces
“for preventing armed clashes and creating conditions for negotiations”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1985

International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War
“for spreading authoritative information and by creating awareness of the catastrophic consequences of nuclear war”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1981

Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
“for promoting the fundamental rights of refugees”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1977

Amnesty International
“for worldwide respect for human rights”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1969

International Labour Organization (ILO)
“for creating international legislation insuring certain norms for working conditions in every country”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1965

United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)
“for its effort to enhance solidarity between nations and reduce the difference between rich and poor states”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1963

Comité international de la Croix Rouge (International Committee of the Red Cross) and Ligue des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge (League of Red Cross Societies)
“for promoting the principles of the Geneva Convention and cooperation with the UN”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1954

Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
“for its efforts to heal the wounds of war by providing help and protection to refugees all over the world”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1947

Friends Service Council (The Quakers) and American Friends Service Committee (The Quakers)
“for their pioneering work in the international peace movement and compassionate effort to relieve human suffering, thereby promoting the fraternity between nations”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1944

Comité international de la Croix Rouge (International Committee of the Red Cross)
“for the great work it has performed during the war on behalf of humanity”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1938

Office international Nansen pour les Réfugiés (Nansen International Office for Refugees)
“for having carried on the work of Fridtjof Nansen to the benefit of refugees across Europe”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1917

Comité international de la Croix Rouge (International Committee of the Red Cross)
“for the efforts to take care of wounded soldiers and prisoners of war and their families”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1910

Bureau international permanent de la Paix (Permanent International Peace Bureau)
“for acting as a link between the peace societies of the various countries, and helping them to organize the world rallies of the international peace movement”

The Nobel Peace Prize 1904

Institut de droit international (Institute of International Law)
“for its striving in public law to develop peaceful ties between nations and to make the laws of war more humane”

To cite this section
MLA style: Nobel Prize awarded organisations. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Mon. 2 Oct 2023. <>