The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1995

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the 1995 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Paul Crutzen, Mario Molina and F. Sherwood Rowland for their work in atmospheric chemistry, particularly concerning the formation and decomposition of ozone.

Paul Crutzen
Max Planck Institute for Chemistry
Mainz, Germany
Mario Molina
Dept. of Earth Atmospheric & Planetary
Sciences & Dept. of Chemistry, MIT
Sherwood Rowland
Dept. of Chemistry, Univ. of California
Irvine, USA

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1995. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Tue. 25 Jun 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.