Sune K. Bergström


Sune K. BergströmI was born January 10th, 1916 in Stockholm, Sweden.


1944D. Med. Sci., Biochemistry, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm


M. D., Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm

1944Docent of Physiological Chemistry, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm

1938 Research Fellowship, London University, London
1940 – 41 Research Fellowship, Columbia University, New York
1941 – 42 Squibb Institute for Medical Research, New Brunswick, N.J.
1944 – 47 Assistant at the Biochemical Department, The Medical Nobel Institute, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm
1946 – 47 Research Fellowship, Basel University, Basel
1947 – 58 Professor of Physiological Chemistry, The University of Lund, Lund
1958 – 80 Professor of Chemistry, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm
1963 – 66 Dean of the Medical Faculty, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm
1969 – 77 Rector of Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm
1975 – Chairman of the Board of Directors, The Nobel Foundation, Stockholm
1977 – 82 Chairman of the WHO Global Advisory Committee on Medical Research, Geneva
1983 President of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Memberships and Honorary Memberships
1952 – 58 Swedish Medical Research Council, Stockholm
1964 – 70 Swedish Medical Research Council, Stockholm
1955 – 62 Swedish Natural Science Research Council, Stockholm
1965 Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm
1965 Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, Stockholm
1965 American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Boston
1973 National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D. C.
1973 American Society of Biological Chemists
1976 Academy of Sciences USSR, Moscow
1977 Academia Leopoldina, Halle, DDR
1978 Institute of Medicine, NAS, Washington, D. C.
1980 Royal Society of Edinburgh, Edinburgh
1982 Medical Academy USSR, Moscow
1982 Finska Vetenskaps-Societeten, Helsingfors
1982 Swedish Society of Medical Sciences, Stockholm
Honors and Awards
Doctor h. c., University of Basel, Basel, 1960
Doctor h. c., University of Chicago, Chicago, 1960
“La Madonnina”, Lectureship, Milan, 1972
Dunham Lecturer, Harvard University, Boston, 1972
Anders Jahre Medical Prize, Oslo, 1972
The Gairdner Award, University of Toronto, Toronto, 1972
Dohme Lecturer, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, 1972 – 73
Merrimon Lecturer, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1973
The V. D. Mattia Lectureship of the Roche Institute, USA, 1974
Harvey Lecture, The Harvey Society, New York, 1974
The Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize, Columbia University, New York, 1975
The Francis Amory Prize, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1975
Doctor h. c., Harvard University, Boston, 1976
Doctor h. c., Mount Sinai Medical School, New York, 1976
Doctor h. c., Medical Academy of Wroclaw, Poland, 1976
The Albert Laser Basic Medical Research Award, New York, 1977
General Amir Chand Oration, All India Institute, New Delhi, 1978
Cairlton Lecture, University of Texas Health Science Centre, Dallas, 1979
The Robert A. Welch Award in Chemistry, Houston, 1980
Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine, Stockholm 1982

From Les Prix Nobel. The Nobel Prizes 1982, Editor Wilhelm Odelberg, [Nobel Foundation], Stockholm, 1983

This autobiography/biography was written at the time of the award and later published in the book series Les Prix Nobel/ Nobel Lectures/The Nobel Prizes. The information is sometimes updated with an addendum submitted by the Laureate.

Sune Bergström died on August 15, 2004.

Copyright © The Nobel Foundation 1982

To cite this section
MLA style: Sune K. Bergström – Biographical. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Thu. 25 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.