Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Robert G. Edwards, presented by Professor Göran K. Hansson, Secretary of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine, on 4 October 2010.

Detailed information about Robert G. Edwards’ work was presented by Professor Christer Höög.


Following the announcement, Professor Christer Höög told senior editor Simon Frantz how the 2010 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is unique in Nobel Prize history, as this year’s prize is the first awarded in the area of reproduction. Christer Höög explained that recent follow up studies showing that IVF children are as healthy as normally conceived children, were a contributing factor for awarding Robert G. Edwards the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2010 and not earlier.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Wed. 27 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Coming up

This year’s Nobel Prize announcements will take place 2–9 October. All announcements will be streamed live here on

See the full schedule
Announcement dates

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.