The Nobel Prize in Physics 1988

Leon M. Lederman

Prize share: 1/3

Melvin Schwartz

Prize share: 1/3

Jack Steinberger

Prize share: 1/3

The Nobel Prize in Physics 1988 was awarded jointly to Leon M. Lederman, Melvin Schwartz and Jack Steinberger "for the neutrino beam method and the demonstration of the doublet structure of the leptons through the discovery of the muon neutrino."

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1988. Nobel Media AB 2018. Thu. 16 Aug 2018. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.