The Nobel Prize in Physics 1999

‘t Hooft and Veltman did their Nobel Prize work around 1970. Not until results were presented from the particle accelerator LEP at CERN, the European Laboratory in Geneva, was the breadth of their contributions realised.
     From these results, among other things, the mass of the top quark could be predicted. This prediction was confirmed when the top quark was discovered in 1995 at the Fermi Laboratory outside Chicago.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 1999. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Fri. 31 Mar 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Fourteen laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2022, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from paleogenomics and click chemistry to documenting war crimes.

See them all presented here.
Nobel Prizes 2022

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.