Two New Windows on the Universe



The Nobel Prize in Physics 2002  The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2002 with one half jointly to Raymond Davis Jr and Masatoshi Koshiba “for pioneering contributions to astrophysics, in particular for the detection of cosmic neutrinos” and the other half to Riccardo Giacconi “for pioneering contributions to astrophysics, which have led to the discovery of cosmic X-ray sources”.

The earth lies in the path of a continuous flux of cosmic radiation of different kinds. Some of this is very difficult to detect. This year’s Nobel Laureates in Physics succeeded in doing this, thereby increasing our understanding of a number of heavenly bodies, from the sun and other stars to supernovae and galaxies. This new knowledge has changed our picture of the universe.


Raymond Davis Jr Masatoshi Koshiba Riccardo Giacconi

To cite this section
MLA style: Two New Windows on the Universe. Nobel Media AB 2019. Sun. 16 Jun 2019. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.