The Nobel Prize in Physics 2005



The Nobel Prize in Physics 2005 The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2005 with one half to Roy J. Glauber “for his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence” and one half jointly to John L. Hall and Theodor W. Hänsch “for their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique”.

To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2005. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2022. Sun. 4 Dec 2022. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.