Prize announcement

Announcement of the 2007 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel to Leonid Hurwicz, Eric S. Maskin and Roger B. Myerson, presented by Professor Gunnar Öquist, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, on 15 October 2007.

A presentation on the prize-awarded work was held by Professor Tore Ellingsen.


Following the announcement, Professor Tomas Sjöström, Adjunct Member of the Economics Prize Committee, was interviewed by freelance journalist Marika Griehsel about the 2007 Economics Laureates.

See a Video of the Interview

To cite this section
MLA style: Prize announcement. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2023. Fri. 22 Sep 2023. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Coming up

This year’s Nobel Prize announcements will take place 2–9 October. All announcements will be streamed live here on

See the full schedule
Announcement dates

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.