The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004



The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004 The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2004 “for the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction” jointly to David J. Gross, H. David Politzer and Frank Wilczek

A good start …
Frank Wilczek and David Politzer were barely 20 years old and still PhD students when their discovery of asymptotic freedom was published. These were their very first scientific publications!


Prize Winners

David J. Gross
Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics
University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
H. David Politzer
California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, USA
Frank Wilczek
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA

A colourful connection

The scientists awarded this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics have solved a mystery surrounding the strongest of nature’s four fundamental forces. The three quarks within the proton can sometimes appear to be free, although no free quarks have ever been observed. The quarks have a quantum mechanical property called colour and interact with each other through the exchange of gluons – nature’s glue.


To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2004. Nobel Prize Outreach AB 2024. Sun. 14 Jul 2024. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Nobel Prizes and laureates

Eleven laureates were awarded a Nobel Prize in 2023, for achievements that have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind. Their work and discoveries range from effective mRNA vaccines and attosecond physics to fighting against the oppression of women.

See them all presented here.

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.