Truth, Trust and Hope

Nobel Prize Summit

Event organisers

Nobel Foundation
Since 1901, the Nobel Prize has been honouring individuals and organisations from around the world for outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for work in peace. The world’s most important prize rewards discoveries and achievements that contributed to the greatest benefit to humankind in line with the will of Alfred Nobel.


US National Academy of Sciences
To meet the government’s urgent need for an independent adviser on scientific matters, President Abraham Lincoln signed a congressional charter forming the National Academy of Sciences in 1863. Since then, its work has shaped sound policies, informed public opinion and advanced the pursuit of science, engineering and medicine.
Learn more


Lead partner


John S. and James L. Knight Foundation


Steering committee


Marcia McNutt
President of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS), co-chair


Vidar Helgesen
CEO of the Nobel Foundation, co-chair


Peter Doherty
Nobel Prize laureate in physiology or medicine 1996, Professor of Immunology, University of Melbourne


Kathleen Hall Jamieson
Professor of Communication, University of Pennsylvania


Saul Perlmutter
Nobel Prize laureate in physics 2011, Professor of Physics, University of California, Berkeley


Michael Rich
Former CEO Rand Corporation


Åsa Wickforss
Professor of Theoretical Philosophy, Stockholm University


Executive team


Franklin Carrero-Martinez
Senior Director, Global Sustainability and Development & Science and Technology for Sustainability, National Academy of Sciences


Anna Sjöström Douagi
Vice President Strategic Initiatives at The Nobel Foundation

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page