The Nobel Prize in Physics 2000

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for basic work on information and communication technology. The prize is being awarded with one half jointly to
Zhores I. Alferov
, Russia, and Herbert Kroemer, USA,
for developing semiconductor heterostructures
used in high-speed and optoelectronics and one half to
Jack. S. Kilby
, USA,
for his part in the invention of the integrated circuit.


To cite this section
MLA style: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2000. Nobel Media AB 2020. Thu. 16 Jul 2020. <>

Back to top Back To Top Takes users back to the top of the page

Explore prizes and laureates

Look for popular awards and laureates in different fields, and discover the history of the Nobel Prize.